Weekend rides and theme parks

During my weekend ride the words of my highly qualified nutritionist chum were ringing in my ears.. That longer lower impact rides are more likely to burn fat as fuel than going for higher intensity burst of a work out… if i understood correctly, high demands tend to force the body to go for the most immediately available emergency source of energy… Which coul be from muscle stores which in fact could be damaging. So, I took it easy on a ride with my wife, and we had a lovely time together out in the countryside.

We rode steady, but didn’t gun it! we averaged about an hour 14 mph and it was a beautiful bright sunny oxfordshire morning. Bliss! A great way to start the weekend! Burn a few calories and have a nice time doing it!

Sunday was a return to the theme park, this time Chessington world of adventures! woo hoo! i made us the packed lunch that morning. It’s hard not to fill the bag with convenient packs of biscuits, crisps and fizzy pop, because they are readily available and easy to grab, and designed for grazing on the move… but I took the time to make some nice sarnies, i packed fruit, bottles if water and some mini chedders (not all good then).

its been a while since we have been here, and the last time i got really anxious that my family wanted to share my hot dog! As we walked past the stand where I bought the offending article I remember clearly the ‘discussion’ about, but I am hungry… I want my own, I don’t want to share it… Insisting that we bought many hot dogs! And I did stuff in a whole foot long made of cows lips hot dog with mustard AND ketchup (a hot dog is the only meal where i would mix them, it would seem weird on any other food, why is that?!!)

if my memory is correct, It was delicious! But I am glad to say it was not on the agenda this time! I was perfectly happy with the goodies we had brought… Although perhaps the banana could have been improved with a double coating of mustard and ketchup!?

Its not a sporty day at a theme park, but it was more active than watching a movie. We Walked all afternoon, albeit slowly, so should have earned a few calories!

Thankfully it is quite quiet this time of year! So no enormous queues, and apart from the boy needing a wee in each and every one, not too bad!

British theme parks are just not Disneyland though. There is always without exception it seems a requirement for maintenance on everything! Everything looks like it could do with an extra coat of paint, or just a clean… In Disney it is cleaned tidied maintained and organised with a precision that the SAS would be pleased with… Management of Alton towers, Thorpe park, Chessington etc…. Get your merlin management team to Disneyland and learn! We pay about the same for a day pass to disneyland as you do for a ticket to a british theme park… your standards should be as high!

I have heard that a £2bn paramount theme park maybe coming to the UK, hopefully that will cause the British parks to up their game!!

About asclark101

I live in Buckinghamshire, working as an IT leadership and projects consultant. I have a passion for family, music, travel, cycling, walking, food, and food, did I mention food? I have a beautiful wife and two wonderful children. We share our home with Moby the Maine coon cat, and Cookie the Cockapoo.
This entry was posted in cycling, exercise, holiday, nutrition, rant, training, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment