This weeks progress?

well it’s been a week of very few lows… That sounds good, it must be all highs!! Which of course is great apart from when you are trying to loose weight and you get ’emotional highs’ by seeing weigh in lows! And I haven’t seen any of those this week!

I have stayed pretty much the same all week. Usual ups and downs but all around the same average… so no significant movement.

Why? I don’t think I have exceeded my net calories all week? And just to remind myself what that means, i have been setting myself a target, a net of 1500 calories a day. So my calories in minus my calories burned in exercising should be no higher than 1500. A sound theory. And it’s been working just fine. However at this particular Plateau I think I may need to consider some adjustments.

I think on the days where I have booked perhaps 1000 + calories for big rides, or where I have had a swim and a good walk and ridden to the station and Boris bikes/walked to the office there is a tendency for me to allow myself to get away with it… To have those sweets, the left overs, a big cookie whatever because its ok I have earned it.. Well, perhaps I need more discipline to maintain the rate of loss… I am thinking maybe I need to lower my net calorie target, or try to make sure that irrespective of the exercise I do… not exceed an in take of 1500 for this to work??

I read this week in the new “cyclist” magazine that to loose a pound of fat, you have to burn 3500 calories, or presumably be in deficit to the tune of 7000 calories a week to loose that 2 lbs a week I target… That’s quite a big number! Also in the same magazine I read a great analogy, which I will paraphrase here… They were basically saying that there is a tendency to reward yourself after a big ride… But that you should consider your body a warehouse, if a delivery of food turns up on 5 pallets your body warehouse can handle that, deal with it and use it… If you try to cram 30 pallets in in one go you may still only be able to use the 5 the rest will have to be stored. And in YOUR warehouse that means turning it into fat! This made some sense to me!

I am not sure what would be best? I want to carry on loosing of course but also I want to get fitter and stronger, and sometimes in those big ride days or more often the day after I just feel ravenous!!! And I don’t want my body to go into starvation mode, so atrrgh what to do…

I know more exercise! That will solve everything!

As an aside; The wife took me for my first meal in a Michelin started Restuarant t this evening. The food was excellent. Really beautiful, not much help on the calorie front!!!

About asclark101

I live in Buckinghamshire, working as an IT leadership and projects consultant. I have a passion for family, music, travel, cycling, walking, food, and food, did I mention food? I have a beautiful wife and two wonderful children. We share our home with Moby the Maine coon cat, and Cookie the Cockapoo.
This entry was posted in cycling, exercise, nutrition, training, weight loss. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This weeks progress?

  1. I have struggled with weight loss for many years. Thanks to cycling, I am the fittest I’ve ever been in my life! Hang in there! You can do it!

Leave a comment